Senate Passes Gardner-Backed Bill Supporting Human Rights in China

Legislation Includes Gardner-Authored Language Calling for Sanctions Against Chinese Officials

Washington, D.C. – The Senate passed S. 3744, the Uyghur Human Rights Policy Act, bipartisan legislation introduced by U.S. Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO), Chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy, and a bipartisan group of colleagues led by Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) and Senator Jim Risch (R-ID), the Chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee.

“The Chinese Communist Party’s mass internment and forced labor of Uighurs is one of the greatest ongoing tragedies of our time. The CCP’s actions in Xinjiang are an affront to humanity and the CCP must pay a heavy price for these heinous crimes,” said Senator Gardner. “Today the U.S. Senate unanimously stated that the United States will hold the CCP and its enablers responsible, pursuant to my Asia Reassurance Initiative Act and other relevant U.S laws.”

S. 3744 notes that Gardner’s Asia Reassurance Initiative Act, signed into law in December 2018, authorizes funding to promote democracy, human rights, and rule of law in the People’s Republic of China and supports sanctions designations against any entity or individual that violates human rights or religious freedoms or engages in censorship activities.

In December 2018, Gardner held a hearing in his subcommittee specifically focused on China’s human rights abuses, including hearing testimony from one of the top Uighur community leaders. The hearing was the first public instance where the U.S. Department of State publicly revealed that over two million Uighurs and other Muslim minorities are being detained in modern-day concentration camps in Xinjiang. Also in December 2018, Gardner condemned China’s human rights abuses in a personal meeting with China’s Ambassador to the United States, Cui Tiankai.  


Cory Gardner is a member of the U.S. Senate serving Colorado. He sits on the Energy & Natural Resources Committee, the Foreign Relations Committee, the Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee, and is the Chairman of the Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy.