Gardner’s Bill to Ease TSA Security Lines, Enhance Security Included in FAA Reauthorization Bill

Washington, DC  Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO), a member of the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee, secured language in the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Reauthorization bill that will help ease security lines at Denver International Airport (DIA) and airports across the country, while also improving security and safety at airports. 


Gardner introduced the Safe Convenient Reliable Efficient Effective Next-Generation Functional and Secure TSA (SCREEN FAST) Act in May. Although the language was not included in the original Senate bill, Gardner worked with his colleagues to ensure his legislation was part of the final FAA bill that is scheduled to be voted on by both the House and Senate next week and sent to the President. The current authorization for the FAA expires on July 15th


Gardner’s SCREEN FAST Act will address both short-term and long-term concerns with TSA security lines at airports across the nation and is funded using existing TSA resources and airport reimbursements. The bill creates two pilot programs focused on increasing efficiency and security at airports and establishing prototypes for new and innovative screening techniques. It also directs the TSA to report to the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation and House Homeland Security Committees on the pilot programs. 


“As airport security lines plague travelers across Colorado and the country, it’s important we provide TSA and airports the flexibility to best ease security lines,” said Gardner. “My SCREEN FAST Act provides innovative solutions to streamline the security screening process and make it more efficient, while preserving safety and security. I’m pleased my bill is included in the final FAA Reauthorization package and look forward to supporting this bipartisan bill as it advances through the final stages of the legislative process.”





Cory Gardner is a member of the U.S. Senate serving Colorado. He sits on the Energy & Natural Resources Committee, the Foreign Relations Committee, the Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee, and the Small Business & Entrepreneurship Committee, and is the Chairman of the Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy.


354 Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20515

(202) 224-5941