Gardner: “We Must Work Together to Move Our Country Forward”

Calls on colleagues to vote for latest coronavirus relief package

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO) released the following statement regarding the Delivering Immediate Relief to America’s Families, Schools, and Small Businesses Act, which is the coronavirus relief measure that will be considered by the U.S. Senate this week:

“As Coloradans struggle to make ends meet, keep their businesses open, and provide for their families, they are looking for Congress to come together to help our country through this pandemic. We have an opportunity to support out-of-work Americans, help small businesses, and provide critical resources to stop the spread of COVID-19,” said Senator Gardner. “This bill is desperately needed and we must work together to move our country forward. I am calling on my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to vote yes to move forward with this relief package.”

You can read more about Senator Gardner’s actions to protect Coloradans from COVID-19 here.

The coronavirus relief package contains:

  • $105 billion to support students’ safe return to in-person learning and educational opportunities 
  • $16 billion for testing and related containment efforts
  • $31 billion for activities like vaccine development and distribution
  • $20 billion in farm assistance
  • $15 billion to support childcare services
  • Changes to the Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) to allow a second loan, with reforms to require new applications to show revenue loss
  • Simplifying the loan forgiveness application process for current and future PPP recipients receiving loans of $150,000 or less
  • Enhanced unemployment benefits of $300 per week through December 27, 2020
  • $10 billion in assistance to the United States Postal Service (USPS)


Cory Gardner is a member of the U.S. Senate serving Colorado. He sits on the Energy & Natural Resources Committee, the Foreign Relations Committee, the Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee, and is the Chairman of the Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy.