Gardner Votes to Recommend Ryan Zinke as Interior Secretary, Governor Rick Perry as Energy Secretary

Washington, DC – Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO), a member of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, today voted to recommend Rep. Ryan Zinke (R-MT) as Secretary of the Department of the Interior and Governor Rick Perry as Secretary of the Department of Energy:


On Rep. Ryan Zinke as Interior Secretary:

“Having someone who understands Western issues – ranging from the importance of the Land and Water Conservation Fund to the responsible procurement of our energy resources on our public lands - lead the Department of the Interior will have a positive effect on Colorado and the country as a whole. Rep. Zinke has dedicated his life to public service; he previously served our country valiantly as U.S. Navy Seal and now he represents the people of Montana in the House of Representatives. I’ve long stated that I will work to bring more of Colorado to Washington, and less of Washington to Colorado, and that’s why I enthusiastically supported a Westerner for the Secretary of the Interior post.”


On Governor Rick Perry as Energy Secretary:

“Governor Perry is a leader who I will work with to promote scientific research and the advancement of new technologies. When I met with Governor Perry, we discussed the importance of the Department of Energy’s National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL). NREL is an asset to not only Colorado, but our country and has proven to be instrumental in the advancement of the nation’s renewable energy and electrical grid modernization. Governor Perry is a strong manager who promotes an all-of-the-above energy strategy that will not only spur our economy, but keep our country safe.”


Cory Gardner is a member of the U.S. Senate serving Colorado. He sits on the Energy & Natural Resources Committee, the Foreign Relations Committee, the Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee, and the Budget Committee, and is the Chairman of the Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy.

354 Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20515

(202) 224-5941