Gardner to Welcome FRA Administrator to the Front Range to Discuss Train Horn Rule

Washington, DC – Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO) today announced that Sarah Feinberg, Administrator of the Federal Railroad Administration, will visit Colorado on June 17th. In addition to their discussions, Gardner formally invited Administrator Feinberg in December and in April to visit Colorado and meet with members of local communities to discuss the impact of train horn noise throughout the state.


In March, the FRA reopened the train horn rule for a public comment period of 120 days before the FRA will make a final decision on whether or not to change the existing rule. The current train horn rule went into effect in 2005, and has had a significant negative impact on Colorado communities. 


“I welcome Administrator Feinberg’s visit to Colorado and appreciate her willingness to meet with my constituents, particularly those on the Front Range, who are impacted by the FRA’s train horn noise regulation,” said Gardner. “As the FRA continues its retrospective review of the train horn rule, I urge the FRA to take into consideration the unique circumstances facing Colorado cities and towns with rail lines.”


Gardner has long advocated for the FRA to consider the train horn rule’s impact on Colorado. In December, he sent a letter to Administrator Feinberg expressing disappointment the agency denied a quiet-zone waiver for Fort Collins and asked the FRA to reopen the train horn rule. He later sent a letter on December 18, 2015 asking the Administrator to meet with Front Range communities that have been impacted by the rule, and followed up with another letter in April thanking the FRA for reconsidering the train horn rule and again requesting that the Administrator visit Colorado.



Cory Gardner is a member of the U.S. Senate serving Colorado. He sits on the Energy & Natural Resources Committee, the Foreign Relations Committee, the Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee, and the Small Business & Entrepreneurship Committee, and is the Chairman of the Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy.


354 Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20515

(202) 224-5941