Gardner Statement on Unanimous Passage of U.S. Commercial Space Launch Competitiveness Act

Washington, DC – Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO) released a statement today following the Senate’s passage, by unanimous consent, of the conferenced language to the U.S. Commercial Space Launch Competitiveness Act. The Act, introduced by Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX), has a bipartisan group of co-sponsors including Senator Gardner, Senator Bill Nelson (D-FL), Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL), Senator Gary Peters, (D-MI), and Senator Patty Murray (D-WA).

The Act would enhance existing efforts to develop the commercial space industry by protecting it from onerous federal regulation, and it establishes clearer ground rules for property rights beyond Earth. The Act also extends the operation of the International Space Station (ISS) through 2024, giving the ISS and NASA an extended amount of mission certainty. Additionally, the Act contains language Senator Gardner pressed for which would help Congress more closely monitor the application process for new remote sensing equipment, technology often used by satellites to monitor and classify objects and patterns on the ground.

“The Commercial Space Launch Competitiveness Act is a significant step forward in encouraging the continued growth of the commercial space sector,” Gardner said. “Aerospace plays a major role in Colorado’s economy, sustaining thousands of jobs and ensuring that our state is on the cutting edge of technological development.

“By providing commonsense ground rules for the commercial development of space and by protecting this growing sector from burdensome federal regulation, this Act ensures that the commercial space sector will be able to thrive in Colorado. I’m proud of the unanimous support this bill received in the Senate, and I look forward to its passage by the House.”


Cory Gardner is a member of the U.S. Senate serving Colorado. He sits on the Energy & Natural Resources Committee, the Foreign Relations Committee, the Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee, and the Small Business & Entrepreneurship Committee, and is the Chairman of the Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy.