Gardner Statement on Russian Aggression Toward Ukraine

Washington, DC- Today, Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO) released the below statement in response to Russian attacks on Ukrainian naval ships in the Sea of Azov.


“Russia’s illegal and unprovoked aggression toward Ukraine cannot be tolerated and demands a serious response by the United States and a community of nations,” said Senator Gardner. “I urge the Administration to urgently outline a series of diplomatic, economic, and defense posture measures to deter the Kremlin, such as additional deployments of US and NATO assets in the European theater, sanctions against senior Russian officials and their families, and deep cuts to Russian diplomatic presence in the United States. I also renew my call on the State Department to designate Russia a state sponsor of terrorism under U.S. law. Putin’s global campaign to test our resolve and undermine the United States and our allies cannot go unanswered.”


Senator Gardner has been an outspoken critic of Russia and President Putin. He is the author of S. 2780, a bill to require a determination on designation of the Russian Federation as a state sponsor of terrorism. Senator Gardner is a member of the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the Helsinki Commission. The Helsinki Commission consists of 21 Commissioners, 18 from the United States Congress and one each from the Departments of State, Defense, and Commerce. Senator Gardner is also a member of the Senate NATO Observer Group, which has an expanded mission to closely monitor and inform Senators outside of national security committees about defense spending commitments of Alliance members, the process of upgrading military capabilities, the Alliance’s counter-terrorism capability, NATO enlargement and the ability of NATO member states to address non-conventional warfare.




Cory Gardner is a member of the U.S. Senate serving Colorado. He sits on the Energy & Natural Resources Committee, the Foreign Relations Committee, the Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee, and the Budget Committee, and is the Chairman of the Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy.