Gardner, Sinema Introduce Bipartisan Bill to Connect Americans to Broadband, Jobs

Washington, D.C. – Today U.S. Senators Cory Gardner (R-CO) and Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), members of the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee, introduced the TOWER Infrastructure Deployment Act (TOWER Act) to increase broadband deployment and close the workforce shortage in the telecommunications industry.


“A strong and dependable workforce is critical to keeping our nation’s telecommunications industry a global leader,” said Senator Gardner. “Workers on the Hoyt Radio Tower in Hoyt, Colorado have to scale almost 2,000 feet into the air to maintain communications equipment—that kind of work requires courage, dedication, and intensive training. The TOWER Act would ensure the FCC remains focused on ways to expand and strengthen the telecommunications workforce and involve a variety of stakeholders in that process. I look forward to working with Senator Sinema to pass this legislation.”


“Our bill helps hardworking Arizonans gain the skills to succeed in the jobs of the future and helps bridge the digital divide in our state,”said Senator Sinema. 

The TOWER Act requires the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to improve and streamline workforce development programs to prepare for next-generation communications infrastructure. 


This is Senator Gardner’s latest action to ensure every corner of Colorado is connected.


  • Senator Gardner introduced bipartisan legislation in March to expand wireless internet to school buses, which would help students in rural areas who have long commutes and may not have broadband internet at home.



  • Senator Gardner introduced the bipartisan AIRWAVES Act in July to make available additional licensed and unlicensed spectrum for commercial use and reserve a portion of spectrum auction proceeds for rural broadband buildout.


The text of the TOWER Act can be found here.




Cory Gardner is a member of the U.S. Senate serving Colorado. He sits on the Energy & Natural Resources Committee, the Foreign Relations Committee, the Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee, and is the Chairman of the Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy.