Gardner Secures Disaster Relief Funding for U.S. 34 Project

Funding to Complete Remaining Infrastructure Repairs from 2013 Floods

Washington, DC – Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO) today announced he secured funding to complete the U.S. 34 project as well as other repairs to infrastructure following the 2013 floods in the continuing resolution. Gardner joined members of the Colorado delegation in writing a letter to Senate Appropriations Chairman Thad Cochran and Vice Chairwoman Barbara Mikulski as well as House Appropriations Chairman Hal Rogers and Ranking Member Nita Lowey urging adequate funding for the Federal Highway Administration’s (FHWA) Emergency Relief account, which is facing a significant shortfall, to address disaster relief and mitigation projects in Colorado. 


“I welcome the inclusion of much-needed disaster relief funding for Colorado road projects in the continuing resolution. Without it, the Colorado Department of Transportation predicted that it could take up to 20 years to receive the funding necessary to permanently repair our infrastructure damaged from the 2013 floods,” said Gardner. “The significant boost in emergency relief funding is central to the completion of the U.S. 34 project and other critical repairs to Colorado’s roadways. It eliminates the threat of significant delays due to funding shortfalls, and I’m proud the spending bill will pave the way for progress on the remaining projects.”  

According to the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT), the state has a backlog of more than $250 million across the state for infrastructure projects in the aftermath of the 2013 floods. The Appropriations measure that the Senate is expected to take up later this week includes more than $1 billion for the Emergency Relief account at FHWA and will allow the state to move these projects forward. 



Cory Gardner is a member of the U.S. Senate serving Colorado. He sits on the Energy & Natural Resources Committee, the Foreign Relations Committee, the Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee, and the Small Business & Entrepreneurship Committee, and is the Chairman of the Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy.

354 Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20515

(202) 224-5941