Gardner Presents Congressional Badge of Bravery to Douglas County Detective, Daniel Brite

Washington, DC - Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO) presented the Congressional Badge of Bravery on Friday to Detective Daniel Brite from the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office. The Congressional Badge of Bravery is awarded to individuals who, without regard for their own safety, act extraordinarily to protect the lives of others.

Detective Daniel Brite exemplified this bravery on September 2nd, 2016, when he engaged an armed and highly dangerous man threatening himself and others. With the subject’s residence being located in close proximity to a nearby middle school and elementary school, Detective Brite and his fellow officers had to act fast to protect the lives of the students preparing to discharge for the school day. Despite being severely wounded, Detective Brite continued to fight back putting the lives and well-being of others above his own. 

CBOB Brite
CBOB Brite-medal


“I’m honored to have the opportunity to present Detective Brite with the Congressional Badge of Bravery today,” said Senator Gardner. “Detective Brite is a hero who acted fearlessly in the face of danger. His actions while under fire and severely injured will not be forgotten by our community and the lives he saved.”

“I have spent some time thinking about what this award means to me,” said Detective Brite. “I am very grateful to be the recipient of this award. To me, it represents the fact that in this great nation, there are far more first responder supporters than naysayers. When a brother and sister fall down in this profession, there are thousands of men and women ready and willing to step over the fallen officer and continue the mission. That mission is to fight for the innocent and repel the evil. I am forever grateful that I am still able to be a part of that mission because I have a lot of fight left in me.”

Read more about his bravery here.

Read more about the Congressional Badge of Bravery here.



Cory Gardner is a member of the U.S. Senate serving Colorado. He sits on the Energy & Natural Resources Committee, the Foreign Relations Committee, the Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee, and the Budget Committee, and is the Chairman of the Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy.