Gardner Measures Included in Energy and Water Appropriations Bill

Washington, DC – This week, the Senate will begin debate on the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development appropriations bill that includes funding for two priorities championed by Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO), the Arkansas Valley Conduit Project and the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL).

“I’m pleased I was able to secure funding for two Colorado priorities in the Senate Energy and Water Appropriations bill,” said Gardner. “The Arkansas Valley Conduit project will lead to cleaner, safer water in Colorado, and that’s why I’ve introduced legislation and advocated for funding through the appropriations process to assist in covering the cost of construction. Additionally, NREL is responsible for cutting-edge research, and it’s important that we provide NREL with resources required to explore clean energy innovation. With a Republican majority in Congress, I’m proud we have returned to regular order and I’m hopeful we can continue moving through the appropriations process.” 


  • Gardner introduced a bill that directs revenue collected from existing Fryingpan-Arkansas project facilities to the Southeastern Colorado Water Conservancy District for Arkansas Valley Conduit construction costs.  Authorized in the 1960s, the Arkansas Valley Conduit project in Southeast Colorado will deliver clean drinking water to local communities across the region upon completion. This bill extends greater flexibility to the Southeastern Colorado Water Conservancy District by allowing the maximum use of miscellaneous revenue collected from the Fryingpan-Arkansas Project to be immediately reinvested into the Arkansas Valley Conduit once construction begins.  



Cory Gardner is a member of the U.S. Senate serving Colorado. He sits on the Energy & Natural Resources Committee, the Foreign Relations Committee, the Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee, and the Small Business & Entrepreneurship Committee, and is the Chairman of the Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy. 

354 Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510

(202) 224-5941