Gardner Energy Efficiency Legislation Approved by Energy and Natural Resources Committee

Washington, D.C. – Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO) released the below statement after the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee unanimously approved the Energy Savings Through Public-Private Partnerships Act of 2017 (S. 239), legislation that encourages the use of Energy Savings Performance Contracts (ESPCs) and Utility Energy Savings Contracts (UESCs) in federal buildings. Gardner introduced this bipartisan legislation in January with Senators Chris Coons (D-DE), Rob Portman (R-OH), and Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH).

Mandatory federal audits already outline energy savings projects for federal facilities aimed at reducing energy consumption and saving tax dollars; however, federal agencies are currently not required to implement these changes. This legislation changes that and would allow projects to be paid for by ESPCs or UESCs. ESPCs and UESCs are innovative public-private partnerships in which private companies use their own money and resources to make energy efficiency upgrades to federal buildings. In exchange for making energy efficient upgrades, those private companies receive a portion of the money saved as a result of the increased efficiency in federal buildings. ESPCs and UESCs create private sector jobs upgrading the federal government’s estimated three billion square feet of office space at no real cost to taxpayers.

“This commonsense, bipartisan legislation will increase federal buildings’ energy efficiency and save taxpayer dollars through public-private partnerships,” said Gardner. “I’m proud to lead this legislation that will ultimately create private sector jobs and protect our environment for future generations.”



Cory Gardner is a member of the U.S. Senate serving Colorado. He sits on the Energy & Natural Resources Committee, the Foreign Relations Committee, the Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee, and the Budget Committee, and is the Chairman of the Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy and Subcommittee on Energy.


354 Russell Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20515


(202) 224-5941