Gardner Amendment to Fight Meth Passes Senate

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Cory Gardner (R-CO) successfully included an amendment to increase funding for an anti-meth program in the Commerce, Justice, Science, Agriculture, Interior, Environment, Transportation, and Housing and Urban Development Appropriations bill, which passed the Senate today. Senator Gardner’s amendment was cosponsored by Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) and Senators Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Steve Daines (R-MT), Jon Tester (D-MT), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Doug Jones (D-AL), and Gary Peters (D-MI).

NOTE: Click here to download Senator Gardner’s floor remarks on his amendment.

“In between 2011 and 2018, Colorado has experienced a nearly 40 percent increase in the admissions for methaddiction,” said Senator Gardner. “We have to provide new tools and resources to deal with the dangers caused by methamphetamines in our communities.”

“Methamphetamine use is a major problem endangering Kentucky families and putting lives at risk, and I’m proud to support our law enforcement professionals in fighting back,” said Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell. “With Senator Gardner’s leadership on this important amendment I am proud to cosponsor, we’re dedicating additional resources to bolster the work of our brave first responders who keep our communities safe from methamphetamine. Kentucky is home to several leaders of the national response to substance abuse, and I’ll continue working with my colleagues to support their life-saving work.”

Gardner’s amendment increases funding for the COPS Anti-Methamphetamine Program (CAMP) to $13 million. According to the Department of Justice, CAMP is a competitive grant solicitation, open to state law enforcement agencies in states with high seizures of precursor chemicals, finished methamphetamine, laboratories, and laboratory dump seizures.


Cory Gardner is a member of the U.S. Senate serving Colorado. He sits on the Energy & Natural Resources Committee, the Foreign Relations Committee, the Commerce, Science, & Transportation Committee, and is the Chairman of the Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy.